Rachel

(Image courtesy of Rachel)

Hi Rachel! Thanks so much for getting in touch  So firstly, can I confirm where you are from, your age, how come you’re in Madrid, and what informed your decision to stay here during this period? was it an easy decision and how are you feeling about it now?

I am from Salt Lake City, Utah. I am 24 years old. In 2017 I studied abroad in Berlin and fell in love with being in Europe. After I graduated, I found the auxiliaires de conversación program and moved to Bilbao. After a school year in the Basque Country, I decided I wanted to experience Spanish culture while I lived in Spain. And thus, I moved to Madrid.

I like my life here a lot—my school is great, I have some fantastic people in my life, my apartment is fantastic, and my quality of life is so much higher here than it would be in the US. I chose to stay because I didn’t want to leave the life I built for myself behind. I don’t want to abandon all this.

I have little confidence in the way the US has decided to handle the situation and I can’t help but feel like this is where I should be. I doubt my decision to remain in Madrid for this, as I absolutely hate being quarantined in my apartment. While I’m an introvert, I’m not much of a homebody. 

I feel uneasy and nervous, but mostly by the fact that there isn’t one clear and correct answer for what I should do and where I should be—the Coronavirus is everywhere.

Thank you so much for taking the time to send all of that that’s amazing thank you! I studied In Bilbao near that time! Do you prefer here or there do you think?

Could I ask you about how what differences you imagine post-isolation to be like? do you think you will have learnt anything about yourself, or the people you are with? and what is your view on the societal impact of this endeavour?

Having a larger city is better for me, so I think Madrid is a better fit. However, Bilbao and the Basque Country in general have such a uniqueness and quaintness that is pretty magical. I miss the beauty and the pride that people have in the city, and I honestly wouldn’t mind moving back one day.

Having a larger city is better for me, so I think Madrid is a better fit. However, Bilbao and the Basque Country in general have such a uniqueness and quaintness that is pretty magical. I miss the beauty and the pride that people have in the city, and I honestly wouldn’t mind moving back one day. Yes, it’s very specific to Bilbao which does make it a special place.

I don’t know what it’ll be like post-isolation, but my guesses are:

Crowded parks, crazy sales, empty shelves. I hope that people will have learned the importance of cleanliness and washing their damn hands! I think the whole process of the quarantine will help me get to know myself a bit better, because while I spend a lot of time with/by myself, I am not used to it just being in one solitary place. I don’t know what my flare mates are going to learn. Hmmm, and as for the social aspect, I think that in the immediate future there will be a ton of mini fiesta parties that celebrate reunions. The economy will be long-term impacted though, and that will likely take its toll on the population.

Interesting but concerning.

The immediate period will be hectic but crucial in deciding and highlighting the problems raised by this pandemic.

Agreed. It’ll be so interesting to see what changes.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started